Photos Tagged

Hey y’all, I’m back. Quick, over-simplified recap: I’m back in America safely and happily, I quickly visited home in Wisconsin, drove back to Texas, and graduated college.

My last guest has left Texas. This afternoon I dropped my same-faced little brother off at the airport. After I drove back down to Austin, it wasn’t even two days before my best friends from high school flew down for a fun-filled five days. A few days after their visit, the graduation guests including Grandma and Grandpa, Dad, Mom, 2 brothers, my sister, and my brother-in-law began trickling into town. I have been in euphoria, reacquainting myself with my favorite city and letting friends and family in on what my life has been. Now everyone has left, and my weeks of constant recreation and over-stimulation have come to a close. I guess you could say that about my last four months. I guess you could even say that about my last four years.

Last night, I went through my tagged pictures on Facebook. The Communication major in me likes Facebook least of all social media I use (#Twitter4lyfe), but after last night I’ve realized how thankful I am for it. Particularly because of my photos tagged. As I clicked through I felt a longing for the excitement each day of adventure brought in Costa Rica. I smiled as I associated memories along with nights out with friends and student activities throughout my Concordia years. I reminisced on who I went into college knowing, who I went through college meeting, and who I’m leaving college loving.

What if four years ago… when I was a senior in high school without a clue of what the future would hold, I could take a glimpse at all my current photos tagged? I would have been able to see all the stages of Apartment 1912 which I called “home” for the last three years. Why did I wear that on the first day of school? These friends of mine are the most beautiful people I have ever seen. Wow that looks like a cool restaurant. When did my brother get so tall. Wait I’m going to live in Costa Rica?!?

What if right now… I could go to my Facebook and look at all of the photos tagged of me in the next four years ahead? Wait, I’m living where? Wow, so thoooose are all the jobs I’m going to have. Thank goodness I haven’t cut my hair yet. Maybe that shirt is a new trend or something… I can’t wait to meet that person! Oh, so everything is going to be okay.

Yes, Rachel, everything is going to be okay. Just like when you were in high school and didn’t know you would be moving to Texas. Just like when you were getting on the plane to Costa Rica. Just like when you’ve just graduated college, and you’re sitting at Starbucks blogging, and your cute-pie little brother was the last guest to leave Texas.

I am glad I didn’t see those photos tagged four years ago, and I don’t want to see them now. Even if I think I am able to make my own plans and determine my own life, I know God laughs and says, “Ha! Rachel. Are you kidding me? I have something way bigger, and way different, and much more special in store. Don’t even try to guess your future photos tagged.”

“Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.” Proverbs 19:21

3 thoughts on “Photos Tagged

  1. Pingback: Plan Messing | Chasing Chachy

Leave a Reply

