“Thanks for the sweet bread.”

So, I’m not one who’s familiar with the Costa Rican non-verbals. I’m still trying to get used to the cheek kiss greeting and farewell. It may be common for men to bring over sweet bread to the home of family friends when they want to meet their gringa students, or it may not be. Whether it is or not, it happened tonight.

I probably will never stop bragging about mi familia tica. I’ve warned you about my parentheses usage, I’m warning you about my bragging. You have especially heard about Jose lots and lots (by the way, he got a haircut… to die for). You also need to know that my two older sisters are the hottest commodities in San Jose, and maybe even Costa Rica. These girls are drop dead gorgeous, intelligent, and can do hair and nails like no ones business except their own (family business). They have tico friends, and they are not afraid to introduce them.

Ring ring ring. It started with a phone call during dinner. Mama tica answered, screamed, hung up, and came back to the table to tell us, “Esteban wants to meet the students!” (Ugh, I haven’t bragged about mama tica enough either. It will come.) This conversation somewhat correlates with the story from Equipo Novio Milagro, meaning mama tica wants to be a matchmaker and loves joking about boyfriends. Welp, this was not a joke because sure enough, Esteban came riding up on his Harley Davidson (shout out Milwaukee), pan dulce in hand.

“Thanks for the sweet bread.” Amanda told him this in Spanish in a voice sweeter than the bread, the typical Amanda way. Who knew that five words could open a floodgate? The conversation then began and did not stop for four hours. I wrote so many new words in TLPB (See The Little Pink Book) its insane. Y’all, it was hilarious. Here go three gringas sitting at the table with their little brother (who eventually left out of attention jealously, said mama tica) trying to do homework. I feel bad for the roomies because they have an exam tomorrow, but there was no room for studying to be done. We were pumped because we got café with the pan dulce, were straight conversing, and ticos that are both taller and older than us have been diamonds in the rough.

This evening could not have come at a more perfect time. I love sitting around and talking with the fam, its honestly one of my favorite past times. Esteban did not just bring over some sweet bread, but he brought an opportunity for us all to stop our evening, post-dinner agendas do some family bonding. We laughed and teased and got to know one another better. We made plans for this weekend, our first weekend to stay home in San Jose. I don’t get to talk to my (biological) family very often and had been really missing them today (some of yall may have seen my instagram in dedication to today’s feelings). Entonces, tonight was extra sweet. (Speaking of my (biological) fam, my brother Andrew left for a mission trip to Slovakia today until June 30th. Prayer Request!)

Thanks for the sweet evening, Esteban.

4 thoughts on ““Thanks for the sweet bread.”

  1. Hello! My English class is exploring the world of blogging. I came across yours after searching ‘gringa’ haha. I volunteer regularly with a local Hispanic center and it’s a comment I hear often (: Love your post! Yeah, Spanglish! The pics remind me of a Guatemala mission trip I took two years ago. Slightly jealous, but excited to read more!

  2. Pingback: Sweet Notes | Chasing Chachy

Leave a Reply

