Romans 8:39

Romans 8:29 (NIV) “Niether height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” HEIGHT. DEPTH. Two types of measurement I now understand in a completely different way. Have you ever soared  thousands of feet above the treetops, trusting your fate to a cable cord two inches in diameter? Have you ever leaped from a bridge, multiple stories high plunging into the depths of, well, the solid ground? I have never been an advocate for height or depth. I’m never first in line for the high dive. I never swim to the bottom of the lake just to “see if I can touch the bottom”. I am perfectly complacent at the surface of the water, or in this case, with my two size 8.5 pink and gray nike shoes on placed solidly on the surface of the ground.

We spent the weekend in Monteverde, Costa Rica. Monteverde means “green mountain” in spanish. We stayed in a misty, magical mountain town and reacquainted ourselves with what it felt like to be chilly. They warned us about the temperature change, so I was sure to bring my black jeans. Too bad they were folded when I grabbed them from the laundry last week… Therefore, I did not realize they were JOSE’S TINY BLACK JEANS until pulled them out to put them on after my shower. Everyone in my hallway heard me laughing because this hotel was super echotastic. Despite the thin walls, our hotel, named El Establo, was drop dead gorgeous and the beds were a TREAT. It was a blessing in disguise to have been a little under the (chilly) weather this weekend because I had an excuse to utilize my comforter to its full potential. It was a hard goodbye with that thing on Sunday.

Sunset pictures. Free meals. New experiences. Lots of laughing. These are a few of my favorite things, all of which were had in Monteverde. The most significant new experience would have to be Sunday’s canopy tour. As previously mentioned, we went zip-lining over the treetops and after nine cables were given the… opportunity?… to do the Tarzan swing. The longest cable is just under a mile at 1590 meters (one mile is 1600 meters, shout out high school track). They gradually ease you in to the longer cables so that you aren’t quite as terrified when they push you off for the big boys. You basically feel like you can do anything when you’re done so there’s no way the Tarzan swing can be that big of a deal… right? Wrong, Rachel. I screamed so loud I thought my lungs were going to come out of my ojos. I have NEVER had a feeling like that in my stomach before, and it’s not because of the weird fishy chicken I ate Friday night. Check out the video on my facebook wall for proof, titled “This is why I’m not Tarzan” (Thanks for the footage, Kels.)

Funny Storytime. Okay sooo, let me try and put this into words. For the 1590meter cable, they have you go in pairs so that you’re heavier and don’t get bopped around as much because you’re basically flying solo at at the height of an airplane. (Embellishment.) I was with Sami, and for those of yall that know her will agree she is the potentially the funniest person to live. We were “Wahhhh”-ing and “Wooooo”-ing and having a grand time up there until the end when the trees started approaching faster and faster. Op. Sami was in the back, so it was her job to be the brakes. She took this job very seriously and decided she ought to come to a complete stop in a matter of five feet. I’m sitting in this computer lab laughing thinking about this because she basically almost decapitated her arms trying to stop us, ripped her zipline glove, and was hating her life. All the while I am crying laughing, trying to muster up any strength I have left to hold on to the man who had to come out and rescue us. Pinky promise it was hi-lar. I just had Sami read this paragraph to see if there was anything left out. “Um. Just talk about my blister which will hopefully pop soon so that when I’m at the zoo picking up rats and bird poo it doesn’t get infected.” There you have it, so eloquently put.

Okay, I need to get back on track. Let me wipe these laugh tears from my eyes real quick. Anyways, the concept of height and depth have a whole new meaning when you experience them in such a dramatic fashion as I did this weekend… And to think that even those heights and depths in no way can separate me from the love my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ has for me? This is a big world y’all, but God is even bigger. He loves me a whole lot, He loves YOU a whole lot.

IMG_3261Hotel room views + corner of comfy beds

IMG_3309Sunset Pictures! CTX<3 group minus Shina because she was wrestling in the grass.

IMG_3316Sharing a beautiful sunset with a beautiful friend

IMG_3345Smiley Tree and me

IMG_3380

Sami, before the catastrophic zipline event

IMG_3409

 

Check out Proverbs 3:6! Taken on Saturday’s hike, I was obsessed.

IMG_3412

Jose’s pant disappointment.. not sure why you can’t see my shorts.

IMG_34401590 metersssss, ohmylanta

IMG_3443Holly + Nix, have a nice zip!

IMG_3444Beating my chest with Fake Tarzan Confidence

IMG_3455Holly walking to her plunge/doom

IMG_3457“We LOVE THE T-SWING” adrenaline rushed faces

IMG_3458Jump, Doc, jump!

photo

Sami’s blister. 3 days later.

IMG_3479I scream on the weekends, ice cream during the week 😉 (taken Monday)

IMG_3272Psalm 121:1-2 “I lift up my eyes to the hills-where does my help come from? My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth.”

One thought on “Romans 8:39

Leave a Reply

