Ode to Spanish

“I just wanna know you better, know you better, know you better now.” The words of Taylor Swift apply to my feelings toward Spanish. Okay yes, the words of tay sway apply to most everything in life.. yall may already be saying that in your heads (ladies) (ex. “Hey Stephen I can’t help it if you look like an angel” [Hey Stephen] fits perfectly with my desire to snuggle with my little brother Stephen, and “I don’t know what I want, so don’t ask me” [The Outside] clearly applies to my feelings post graduation). However, in this particular case, I am really feeling a strong connection between life and lyrics. Why can’t there be an easy cheat for aspiring bilingualists? (ie finger snap, button push, rosetta stone in the form of a pill, etc)
I’ll tell you why. The best things in life don’t come easy. If they did, they wouldn’t be as special, they wouldn’t be as appreaciated, they wouldnt be as anticipated, they wouldn’t be as satisfying. Aren’t your greatest accomplishments the ones you worked the hardest for? I can tell you that I would not be nearly as frustrated right now if I had worked harder at the language in high school as well as continued to study Spanish after high school. My university in Texas only offers the most basic of levels (easy breezy for a freshman me-zy), but that is a super lame excuse, girl. Spanish, I just want to know you better!
Being able to communicate is a gift I take for granted. When I’m in the U.S., I can strike up a conversation with a stranger if I want to, I can ask the preparer of my meal how they made it, I can make super funny jokes, and I can ask my mom for the extra key when I accidentally lock mine in my room. While I’ve done all of these things here, they require a lot more hand movements than I’m used to, repetition, use of facial muscles, and about 11 times longer than it would if we were speaking in English. If you think I’m being a diva, play charades for 16 hours tomorrow and then come talk to me.
“If I could write a letter to me” (country song quote night) it would say “Dear High School Chachy. Pay more attention in Spanish class. Practice speaking outside of the daily 50 minute class time. In a few years you’re going to Costa Rica, and you’ll be living with an amazing family. You’ll want to be able to tease your little sister about her fake boyfriend, you’ll want to be able to understand more about how your mama tica started her salon, and you’ll want to tell your little brother that it was so nice of him to do that octopus head rub thing the other night. xoxo, Me”
Ode to Spanish: You really are a beautiful language, and you are spoken by many beautiful people with beautiful hearts. Please be patient with me as I try to learn you. Do you know English? Hopefully you’re understanding this. We’ve got a lot more time together, let’s make this happen.
5 thoughts on “Ode to Spanish

  1. My Beautiful Rachel,
    This blog an “ode to Spanish” reveals my hearts greatest desire. I wish I was back in college and could have gone on this excursion with you!! Love th beach! Love Costa Rica, but more than that I love you! Praying that you have some great adventures and can see some amazing sites!

Leave a Reply

