God’s Genius Shown in Genesis

“God promised to bless Abram and to make him great. There was one condition to this promise, however: Abram had to do what God wanted him to do (Genesis 12:2). This meant leaving his home and friends and traveling to a new land, where God promised to build a great nation from Abram’s family. Abram obeyed, walking away from his home, his comfort zone, accepting God’s promise of even greater blessings in the future. Abram believed God, and he demonstrated his trust through his actions.

“It’s difficult to step out in faith. We know the past and can feel secure in the present. The future, though, is unknown and risky. But when God leads, we can follow, confident that his way is best.

“As you read this passage, watch Abram live by faith. And think of where God may be trying to lead you to better serve him. Don’t let the comfort and security of your present position make you miss God’s plan for you. Be flexible and willing to change.”

Yep. This was in my devotion tonight. I am sitting on my bed smiling right now because God really does have a sense of humor. I am soooo tired and I was not planning on blogging tonight (Yes, it’s 9:30 pm) (I get up sups early here, cut me some slack), but then POW. God said, “Share this with your readers, Rachel!! This is why you’re in Costa Rica!!!”

“The rewards of the journey far outweigh the risk of leaving the harbor.” -Unknown. I know y’all, I’m really intense with the quotes tonight. Def portrays the secularly nautical version of Abram’s story in the Bible. My wish for you all is that you strive to be “flexible and willing to change” because being vulnerable and uncertain is sooooooo worth the outcome and growth. I promise. I feel like I’ve already written that in like my first blog post ever, but I will preach it until the day I die! (Potential epilogue? Do I need to get ride of some of those extra o’s? What’s a gravestone character limit? 140 or is that just Twitter?)

We know the past (22 years of Chachy living) and can feel secure in the present (I sure have grown to love this bed and the sounds of the city outside the window). The future, though, is uncertain and risky. Just like the devotion said. I have my first day of school tomorrow, and I have no idea where my 8am Spanish class is going to be. I will probably be as confused as a baby boomer with an iPhone because I understand 2% of what people say to me… but that’s okay. Because it’s all going to work out, I’m going to have a great day, and I get to meet new people and live through new experiences and eat fruits I’ve never seen before!

God is the ultimate comfort zone stretcher. He’s leading, I’m following, and His way is best. So thankful for what He showed me tonight.

4 thoughts on “God’s Genius Shown in Genesis

  1. Beautiful Devotion, perfect timing and a great message. You are so inspiring, I enjoy everything you write. L i V I n G V I C a r I O u S l y T h r o u G H Y o U ❤ your biggest fan in MICHigan

Leave a Reply

