If Elation is Cloud 9, I am on 10

Maybe it’s the coffee in my bloodstream, but I am shaking with excitement. Though I am very impressionable to caffeine, I also thrive off of exciting situations and circumstances. I thrive off of vulnerability and new adventures. I thrive off of uncertainty and the unknown.

Three hours ago, I bought a plane ticket to San José, Costa Rica. Departure date: January 5th, 2013. Return date: April 11th, 2013. OH MY LANTA.

Studying a semester abroad has always been on my bucket list. However, as each semester passed, hopeful reality of this dream became more and more bleak. I’m a senior in college, I have one semester remaining before I graduate, and I’m going to spend it in Central America.

I didn’t want to get my hopes up out of fear that they’d come crashing down. I do what I can to avoid laying there “on, on the concrete” (in the words of Katy Perry). Gravity hurts, and Cloud Nine is a beautifully, dangerous place to be. The view from Cloud Ten is just as insane and incredible. I’ve been interested in this opportunity since the Spring of 2012, but until recently there has always been a possibility that it would “fall through”. I always mentioned to people that “it’s a possibility I’ll study abroad” or “I think I might be in Costa Rica”, but it was never, “I am going to be studying abroad in Costa Rica. For three months.”

I love my life in Austin, Texas. I can’t imagine being more comfortable in a city 1,200 miles from my home in Wisconsin. I can tell y’all though, the morning of August 17th, 2009 was completely uncomfortable. I boarded a plane, by myself at 18 years old, to head to college in Austin, where I didn’t know a single person. I sat at the gate in terminal C and wept. I was terrified. 

Comfort zones expand, and mine’s about to get a whole bunch bigger. My hope is to board my red-eye flight at 1:05am on Thursday, April 11th, 2013 from San José, Costa Rica to Fort Lauderdale, Florida and then on to O’Hare international airport in Chicago with three homes in my heart: Wisconsin, Texas, and Costa Rica. I want to make that happen. I am going to make that happen.

When I take time to sit and relish in the blessings God has given, I feel like I’m drowning. My cup runneth over. It’s a difficult balance of feeling guilty for all that I have and yet accepting God’s gifts with open arms, because I know He delights in providing for me. Providing for me He is, and He always will.

Leave a Reply

